11. the unbecoming of mara dyer by michelle hodkin

image

To be honest, i got a glimpse of the title about mara dyer since last year.  It was the second book that was out in the market, the evolution of mara dyer, that caught my attention.  I got curious. Sounds interesting.  I really wanted to start on the book.   But when i learned there was a first book, i read it first, thus, im here now to give my insights about the unbecoming of mara dyer.

Who is Mara Dyer?
Mara Dyer is the middle daughter of a lawyer dad and mom, with big brother,  daniel and younger brother, joseph. She was in an accident  resulting to the death of her bestfriend rachel, and other 2 friends, claire and jude, when a building collapsed, trapping them. She was the only survivor.  To her parents decision, the whole family moved from a farther place to help her recover from the trauma and to start a new life.  Or so they thought.  But new place means new school means new people in Mara Dyer’s life.  And she was not as comfortable as before accepting and living out her new found life in Croyden University.  Experiencing bizzarre incidents plus bullying from other students didnt help in her fast recovery.  She misses her old friends, and she was dreaming about seeing them, in hallways, or mirrors.  Dreaming, hallucinating or for real, it became a question for her for a while.  She even thought she was going insane.  Or maybe she is, really!

MY TAKE:
I am not impressed as when i just started reading it. The first few parts really got caught my attention.  The plot setting, the accident, the trauma, the mystery, the thrill, they all got me from the start. I was even at the edge of my seat, one time, on one horrifying moment of mara dyer’s episodes.  But getting in the middle of the story, it dwindled down. I lost the excitement.  The interest disintegrated like vapor in the air.   Even the love story that i was very much into in every book didnt help at all.  I was not moved by Noah Shaw and Mara Dyer’ s romance.  Or it didnt just get through me.  It even got me confused.  The realization that was supposed to be enlightening made it more scattered, more vague. I became more detached from the story.  The cliffhanger didnt make me cringed for excitement, not wanting to jump at the first sight of the continuation book.
To make this short, i really had high hopes for this book.  I was just heartbroken, it did not live up to the end.  Somewhere in the middle, i just lost my interest.  So my big question is…  should i continue reading about Mara Dyer? I have lots and lots of other books cued in my to-be-read list, though.  😦
Go, give it a shot. Maybe, you’ll have another take than mine. 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “11. the unbecoming of mara dyer by michelle hodkin

  1. “You will love him to ruin” i like the book 2 much better but be warned it ended with a cliffy. I like the thriller part of the story. It kept me wondering if is she just imagining things? or is there something sinister really going on? hehehe. I am anticipating for book3 but it has been pushed back to nov. release! i think you can push reading the sequel back later this year. There are revelations there that made go what?! this all happens because she’s what?! but Mara will be more haunted in book2 and it will drive u crazy about the creepy things that is happening around and to her.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

The Bookshelf Intruder

Musings of a bibliophile. I live a hundred, different lives through books.

Ana Linden

Writing Life

Mabel Kwong

Asian Australian. Multiculturalism

Books and Burlap

A country librarian and her musings.

Sucheta the Scribbler

Random. Purely Random. And then some more...

Flyhigh Manila Blog

The Premier Producer of Cabin Crew Lifestyle Events

A Daily Rhythm

Dream Big, Live Free

I AM BLAQ

Welcome to Maureen O. Blaq's Blog

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

Wallflower Whimsy

Words from the introverse.

Me, my thoughts and I

Reviews and thought journals through my eyes

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | "I'm Mad About Books"

Obdurate

Big thoughts in a small country

Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

