28. MUD VEIN by Tarryn Fisher

image

(photo courtesy of google images)

MY REACTION:

Wait, that’s it? no further explanation??

Whoah!

What did i just read???

Okay. Let me breath first.  Mixed emotions, i guess.  Somehow, i just love this much … that i hated it that much.

Dark.  Bleak.  Full of emotions, gripping but never exhilarating.  Heartbreaking.  Did i just say dark and depressing?  I was there.  I was there with Senna.  And Isaac.  I felt everything they felt.  It was one h*ll of a roller-coaster ride of emotions.  Their circumstances were clearly presented in a way that I thought i was actually there, and it was actually happening to me.  THE FEAR.   The love and hate, the faith and hopelessness, the holding on and giving up.  Add to the fact that letting go means living or dying.  I just could not help to question what was the point.  How their situation ended, for that matter.  I am not against the actual conclusion for Senna’s story but the way the supposed-to-be-climax had been unfolded, i am just as confused as disappointed as frustrated as ever.  I just didn’t like the resolution, plain and simple.  I can make a lot of different versions in my head, that would suit the story just fine and better.  I can tell you suggestions and what ifs and maybes, but I am not Tarryn Fisher, so this would have to do.

Mud vein, that book that was a total mind f*ck at the start that let you down at the end.

It is not how it was written, the building of the words sans emotion was effective enough to engaged me and my whole attention to it really.  But towards the last chapters, i just felt that it was quickly dragged to end it. It was really the ending that soften it all. I just really expected too much since a lot was given right from the start. A very gripping tale of myterious kidnapping, breast cancer, survival, pseudo-love story, senna, isaac. But the end was not properly justified, for me, at least.

But the writing, SUPERB! TARRYN FISHER knew the words, knew the flow, knew how to get into your nerves.

♥♥♥

Read the SYNOPSIS, if you won’t help get yourselves the suspense that i am talking about!  But don’t tell me i didn’t remind you about the ending. 🙂

“When reclusive novelist Senna Richards wakes up on her thirty-third birthday, everything has changed. Caged behind an electrical fence, locked in a house in the middle of the snow, Senna is left to decode the clues to find out why she was taken. If she wants her freedom, she has to take a close look at her past. But, her past has a heartbeat…and her kidnapper is nowhere to be found. With her survival hanging by a thread, Senna soon realizes this is a game. A dangerous one. Only the truth can set her free.” — GOODREADS

 

MY FAVORITE LINES:

 

  • “What’s the difference?” I asked him. “Between the love of your life, and your soulmate?”.  “One is a choice, and one is not.”
  • “There is a string that connects us that is not visible to the eye. Maybe every person has more than one soul they are connected to, and all over the world there are those invisible strings… Maybe the chances that you’ll find each and every one of your soul mates is slim. But sometimes you’re lucky enough to stumble across one. And you feel a tug. And it’s not so much a choice to love them though their flaws and through your differences, but rather you love them without even trying. You love their flaws.”
  • “Tell me a truth, Senna.”
    “I don’t know how.”
    “Then tell me a lie.”
    “I don’t love you.”
    “The truth is for the mind,” he says. “Lies are for the heart. So let’s just keep lying.”
  • “You breathed life back into me. It was instinct for me to be there with you. I didn’t want to save you, I just didn’t know how to leave you.”
  • “Senna: “Why are you here?”.  Isaac: “Because you are.”
Categories: book review, books | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “28. MUD VEIN by Tarryn Fisher

  1. Oh one of those mind f*ck kind of story…I’ve heard rave revews of this from one author who is a fan of hers. But you are giving me more idea of the atmosphere of this book. Don’t think I will be picking it up anytime soon. Still very nice review 🙂

    • Hihi! i dont want to drop any spoilers so i just rant my reactions. Ive stop reading for a while.. Slump! but im hoping to pick up the beat soon. miss u lai!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

The Bookshelf Intruder

Musings of a bibliophile. I live a hundred, different lives through books.

Ana Linden

Writing Life

Mabel Kwong

Asian Australian. Multiculturalism

Books and Burlap

A country librarian and her musings.

Sucheta the Scribbler

Random. Purely Random. And then some more...

Flyhigh Manila Blog

The Premier Producer of Cabin Crew Lifestyle Events

A Daily Rhythm

Dream Big, Live Free

I AM BLAQ

Welcome to Maureen O. Blaq's Blog

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

Wallflower Whimsy

Words from the introverse.

Me, my thoughts and I

Reviews and thought journals through my eyes

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | "I'm Mad About Books"

Obdurate

Big thoughts in a small country

Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

