32./33./34.THE ONE (Selection #3) / THE PRINCE(#0.5) / THE GUARD(#2.5) by Kiera Cass

THE ONE (THE SELECTION #3)

the one

Summary:

The highly anticipated conclusion to Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series, The One will captivate readers who love dystopian YA fiction and fairy tales. The One is the perfect finale for fans who have followed America’s whirlwind romance since it began–and a swoon-worthy read for teens who have devoured Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Ally Condie’s Matched, or Lauren Oliver’s Delirium.

The Selection changed America Singer’s life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she entered the competition to become the next princess of Illéa, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen–and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she’s made her choice . . . and she’s prepared to fight for the future she wants. 

Find out who America will choose in The One, the enchanting, beautifully romantic third book in the Selection series! — GOODREADS

My reaction: 

♥ ♥ ♥

 

Ooohh America Singer.  Finally, you made my heart beat for you.  I thought i am going to finish this series hating you, but then you proved me wrong.  This ONE was not the best out there but definitely one level higher from the previous books Ms. Kiera Cass had written, The Selection and The Elite.

To tell you honestly, I’ve revisited my reviews with The Selection and The Elite, and I was saddened by my writings. It really did hit me no impact at all.  I never wanted to hate any book but i felt that way when i was reading the two previous books.  I hate the characters, dull and annoying.  The plot, weak.  The flow of the story consisted of episodes unimportant, just word count.  But it all changed in The One.  It was true, there is always light at the end of the tunnel.

America Singer finally became this character that I like since she made up her mind.  Yes, she is brave and lucky-stupid at times but being confused and fickle in her feelings made her one such user and player.  I will not tell which of these two guys, Maxon and Aspen, she finally ended up with, but i’m telling you this, its not much of a suspense, either.  Predictable, but you cannot have it any other way.  This was the right way to end it.  No matter how dragging and hollow the climax scenes, at least it was clearly written to have a happy ending.  For me, I am just glad that i see through it till the end.  Till America Singer got what she really wanted.

I am just concerned about the rebellion.  Not much information at all.  I thought this is supposed to be a dystopian kind of story, but in the end the rebellion just became the distraction.  The focus was finally pointed to the real purpose of the story.  That is to get the prince his future bride.  Some kind of a reality tv, eh?!  The attacks and the alliances and the girls didn’t really do any good.   Not even the attempt to bring down the caste system.  They all just vanished into thin air.  Okay.  Now I get it. This is really set as to be the next season of  “THE BACHELOR”. 🙂

Bonus:

THE PRINCE (#0.5 novella).

All about Prince Maxon before the arrival of the 35 girls for the Selection.  I enjoyed reading it since it was through Maxon’s eyes.  It changed the way the i perceive him.  It changed my impressions and reactions towards him.  His character had substance after knowing his inner thoughts and feelings, even his fears and expectations.  I learned to understand where he was coming from.

THE GUARD (#2.5 novella).

All about Aspen Leger.  The first love of America Singer then The guard at the palace.  The Six then became Two. His story was the the last one that i had read.  And it surprised me.  I secretly rooted for him despite all the first impressions that i got  from the Selection book.  This hopeless romantic in me was piqued by Aspen’s undying love for America.  The no-matter–what-happen-i’ll-be-here-for-you kind of love.  It pained me to see how he tried to endure all those emotional hurts and still be there to support her.  It was the loving from afar that made me like him.  In  this novella only.  When you actually finish the last part in the One, it will not be the same feeling.  At least for me, it was not.  I just thought that the love he felt for her is forever.  Nothing was.

To sum it all up, it seems that LOVE here in this series is treated as shallow, easily manipulated and can be discarded in no time.  I’ve experienced this through the eyes of America herself, Maxon and Aspen.  I couldn’t quite get it, but who doesn’t love happy endings?!  At least, that is the the intention of the series.

Categories: book review, books | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “32./33./34.THE ONE (Selection #3) / THE PRINCE(#0.5) / THE GUARD(#2.5) by Kiera Cass

  1. Great review! I do agree with some of ur points…but basically this one is all fluffy for the sake of a feel good ending.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

The Bookshelf Intruder

Musings of a bibliophile. I live a hundred, different lives through books.

Ana Linden

Writing Life

Mabel Kwong

Asian Australian. Multiculturalism

Books and Burlap

A country librarian and her musings.

Sucheta the Scribbler

Random. Purely Random. And then some more...

Flyhigh Manila Blog

The Premier Producer of Cabin Crew Lifestyle Events

A Daily Rhythm

Dream Big, Live Free

I AM BLAQ

Welcome to Maureen O. Blaq's Blog

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

Wallflower Whimsy

Words from the introverse.

Me, my thoughts and I

Reviews and thought journals through my eyes

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | "I'm Mad About Books"

Obdurate

Big thoughts in a small country

Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

