40. ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS by Stephanie Perkins

anna and th efrench kiss

Who wouldn’t be excited if your parents suddenly decides sending you to a boarding school in Europe?  I will be excited, SUPER, no doubt!  BEST.  PARENTS.  EVER.  Right?  With matching cartwheels and happy dances,  I will be the most obedient daughter in town.  Because new places for me means new adventures, new people, new life.  Besides, it’s PARIS, freakin’, FRANCE.  If not the most romantic city in the world, I don’t know where else is.  Unfortunately, I am not ANNA OLIPHANT.  She had a different view and she is not so happy about it.

“Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?—goodreads”

But you ETTIENE ST. CLAIR.  You, cute boy with an accent.  You had Anna’s heart by the first glance.  It should have been sweet and promising, especially with all the closeness and the caring you were showing to her.  But I keep on always forgetting that Ellie, the girlfriend, existed.  Sometimes, I would root for you and Anna, but when i come to my senses, I would just feel defeated.

ABOUT THE STORY:

Because it was only written to be cute and adorable. Don’t get me wrong.  The  way of writing is superb, it was the flow of the story i was not much into.  I would love to elaborate my take on this matter but that would be giving away the most delicate and important parts of the story.   I visited paris too many times now and indeed it is a very romantic city, a city of love and lights. Who will never be affected and get swooned by a guy as charming as st. clair when ure all alone and in the middle of it? I feel for anna, really. Totally acceptable.  But when matters got out of hand, I was just disappointed in these two.  Hmmm… Please feel free to be the judge.  Read on about their decisions and actions.  Read it so you will understand where Im coming from. In real life, im guilty of these things too… when i was younger. the antics that they made towards each other, the sweet-nothings, the care and concern were straight to the heart mushiness but when you come to think of it, when u mature, your perspectives in life mature also.    It quite struck a nerve or two in my past, maybe that is why I am getting all sensitive and serious.  But hey, did i say that this book has some cute parts? I say, the email exchanges and the point zero were the ones.

♥ ♥ ♥ —

Categories: book review, books | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “40. ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS by Stephanie Perkins

  1. It seems kind of unrealistically romantic to me.

    • I agree with u… Seems like the sole purpose of the story is to charm us romantic readers with all those love is in the air theme… By dazzling its way thru cuteness and charm.

  2. It doesn’t matter it was not that realistic …w/c is why I escape to these kind of stories…we need such kind of charm and cuteness when real life can be hard most of the time. You are right when you said that one have a different perspective when reading a book at certain times of ur life. I didn’t like that Etienne was kind of leading Anna on and it was good that she managed to call him out. But he made up for it in the end…ah such is the power of the city of love. Hihihi! Buti ka pa u’ve been to Paris plenty of times.

  3. You’ve been to Paris Arjaye? Wow! That’s my dream place to visit…. I haven’t read it yet since it’s not the usual genre I read but I am getting very curious about it and I’m off to see Stephanie Perkins this saturday. Hehehe

    • Yes.. Yes… Ganda dun! So romantic…. The book as ive said is cute… Kilig type of young love, try it soon. Hi to s. Perkins! Enjoy! 😉

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

The Bookshelf Intruder

Musings of a bibliophile. I live a hundred, different lives through books.

Ana Linden

Writing Life

Happyface313

Beautiful things and a happy outlook on life

Mabel Kwong

Asian Australian. Multiculturalism

Books and Burlap

A country librarian and her musings.

Sucheta the Scribbler

Random. Purely Random. And then some more...

Flyhigh Manila Blog

The Premier Producer of Cabin Crew Lifestyle Events

A Daily Rhythm

Dream Big, Live Free

I AM BLAQ

Welcome to Maureen O. Blaq's Blog

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

Wallflower Whimsy

Words from the introverse.

Me, my thoughts and I

Reviews and thought journals through my eyes

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | Recommendations | "I'm Mad About Books"

J. Giambrone

Blog of J.Giambrone

Obdurate

Big thoughts in a small country

Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

