GOODREADS 2014 READING CHALLENGE

Today, i’ve reached that goal.  To read 50 books in 2014.  I know, we are just halfway of the year but i’ve finished my original target.

Screen shot 2014-07-03 at 3.27.51 PM

 

It was not an easy journey.  Most of the time, work gets in the way.  Add family and friends, too. I am not complaining, you know. haha! But because i love to hang out with them, and i cant do both since I want to concentrate on just one, I tend to leave some of my readings unattended.  I felt bad letting the dog-eared book stay unread for few days.  But hey, i did it! and I want more! So before i re-evaluate my books-to-read goal, I would like to share my first 50.

Some i do love, some so-so, some not my cup of tea, but never will i say some i hate, coz i believe that a book is good as any of the bestsellers out there, just your preference and likings aside.

Here they are!

Screen shot 2014-07-03 at 9.04.44 PMScreen shot 2014-07-03 at 9.05.08 PMScreen shot 2014-07-03 at 9.05.26 PM

From all of these list, here is my top 5, oopps make it 6, so far:

  1. MAYBE SOMEDAY by Colleen Hoover tied with WHERE SHE WENT by Gayle Forman

I was BOOK-HANGOVERED with this two.  Ridge and Adam are quite at the top of my book boyfriends nowadays.  And the story, well-written, not forced, just a good flow that aimed directly straight to the heart.

2.  MAZE RUNNER SERIES by James Dashner

Mainly, ive been waiting to view my Dylan crushie on its movie adaptation come August.  But this action-packed series will never disappoint.  The twists and turns, the problem-solving, the characters, the cliffhangers, arrggghh! need i say more? these books will blow your minds.

3.  ELEANOR & PARK by Rainbow Rowell

Sweet, innocent, engaging, this one melted my heart. young, cheesy, but i just took 10 hours to swallow this whole.. not a page-turner action story that i normally wanted to know what happens next..but the kind of story that you want to leaf those pages after another and another simply because it warms your heart. Park is such a sweetheart!

4.  THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE by Jandy Nelson

I like the book as much as i like eleanor & park. You can really feel the love and bond.  Youve got to read this book.  Lennie and Toby. Big no. Lennie and Joe. Big yes.

5.  THE GIVER by Lois Lowry

The way the story was written was simple and direct. It was actually written as a children’s book but have adult substance.  And this won an award, the 1994 Newbery Medal (The John Newbery award (Medal) given by the Association for Library Service to Children.  “Im the new receiver of memory of this book.”

 

Since i reached 50…. I AM ADJUSTING MY CHALLENGE THIS 2014 TO 100 BOOKS.

Yay! 50 more books to love and enjoy! I’d better start now… ciao! Happy reading everyone!

 

Categories: book review, books, happenings | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “GOODREADS 2014 READING CHALLENGE

  1. YEHEYYYY! Congrats my friend I’m so happy for you! Next time you add another 10 books to make it 60. Me I’m still about thirty books away I think.

  2. Oh wait another 50! Even better!!! GO! GO! GO Arjaye!

  3. Congratulations Arjaye! 🙂 Gives me an idea to have a challenge, too. But I’m afraid I can’t reach my goal since there are a lot of works which serve as a third party. 😦

    • Try it too pearl… Its much better if u have a goal… Ok lang din nmn if u cant reach it on time… Basta at least u have something to look forward to. 😉

  4. Found myself trying it din. Hehe! 😀 Thanks for the idea and encouragement, Arjaye. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

The Bookshelf Intruder

Musings of a bibliophile. I live a hundred, different lives through books.

Ana Linden

Writing Life

Mabel Kwong

Asian Australian. Multiculturalism

Books and Burlap

A country librarian and her musings.

Sucheta the Scribbler

Random. Purely Random. And then some more...

Flyhigh Manila Blog

The Premier Producer of Cabin Crew Lifestyle Events

A Daily Rhythm

Dream Big, Live Free

I AM BLAQ

Welcome to Maureen O. Blaq's Blog

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

Wallflower Whimsy

Words from the introverse.

Me, my thoughts and I

Reviews and thought journals through my eyes

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | "I'm Mad About Books"

Obdurate

Big thoughts in a small country

Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

