I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN by JANDY NELSON

Sun? If it wont give you the sun, i don’t know what else, since this is one of the most illuminating reads i had ever set my eyes on. No confusion at all, just the right flow of the story. Jumping back and forth of the past and present between the two main characters is sometimes confusing but not Noah and Jude. Their parts were totally aligned, even the POVs were clear as daylight. You know who was telling the side of the story and you immediately jump to his or her account. You immediately relate and you instantly become him or her. Noah or Jude, it doesn’t matter.

And why wont you become Noah and Jude? They are interesting characters. Both of which are lovable, witty, funny and artistic, but imperfect in their own ways. Nasty and sometimes cruel, there’s always a reason behind those acts. The end justifies the means, as they always say, but these flaws were the ones that made them whole in the end. Both broken but finding their pieces. Situations and things helped them find and put them back together. CSA, Devil’s Drop, studio, the church and its pews, Woodbird, leather jacket, meteriotes, ladder and rooftop, oranges and onions, sketches and sandwomen. But mostly, people helped them. “Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story,” no matter how odd their part will be. Mom and Dad, Brian, Oscar, Guillermo, even the parrot too.

One of the more entertaining reads, if i may add. Why so? Because of how the author used words to describe. A lot of words, actually, but thats the point. Clear and lucid and very picturesque. In my mind, Noah and Jude became alive. I love how she painted the world in Noah’s sketches, Noah’s broken heart and broken dreams. I love how Jude turned herself and her world upside down, and back up again. I love how detailed she become when it comes to setting the mood, the feels, the aches and pains, the elated joy, the overall emotions in the story, rollercoaster ride or calm as a still water. I love how smooth the transition even though the scene was heartbreaking or overwhelming. I love. I love. I love. I could go on and on, but i really would want you to experience it by yourself. That laughing out loud, that harrumphing when annoyed, that disappointed and broken feeling, that squeals and feels for delight, disgust, or mixed emotions. She showed them all, quite comprehensibly.

I cannot help but to love Jandy Nelson, more and more! This is the second book that i read from her, THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE, being the first.
I remember how confused I was with her word-building and too much descriptions back then but now ive realized that was the secret. She did it on purpose so you can thoroughly enter the world she wants you to see and live in. That book took me by storm. I remember how i loved her characters back then, Lennie and Toby, big no. But Lenny and Joe, big yes. Joe Fontaine is such a sweetheart.

But I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN is another masterpiece. NOAHandJUDE.
I just finished reading minutes ago, and i sure feel the good vibes that it left behind. So go ahead, turn that very first page. Let’s start remaking the world.

IMG_1811.PNG

Categories: authors, book review, books | Tags: , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN by JANDY NELSON

  1. i’m pretty excited to start on this soon…one of my bookworm friend was supposed to lend me his copy but he forgot to bring it during the recent book signing here…bummer! but anyways i got my ebook copy for back up πŸ™‚ nice review i think u give this justice. i really hope she will be one of the authors to visit us here in the Phils! what i know of next year is James Frey, E. Lockhart, and Robyn Schneider.

    • I just wish that when they do visit the phil… Im gonna be home too. πŸ™‚ i envy you for All the book signings u attended.. Ang saya lang! πŸ™‚

  2. I have a copy of this but I don’t know if I’ll be able to read it soon. Your review makes me want to start reading it. πŸ™‚

  3. Hi lovely! I nominated you for “One Lovely Blog Award”. πŸ™‚ —> http://bibliopearl.wordpress.com/2014/11/10/one-lovely-blog-award/ πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

The Well-Travelled Postcard

A travel blog for anyone with a passion for travelling, living, studying or working abroad.

Ana Linden

Writing Life

Happyface313

Beautiful things and a happy outlook on life

Mabel Kwong

Asian Australian. Intercultural Identity

Books and Burlap

A country librarian and her musings.

I am Blaq

...my little corner on the web

Wallflower Whimsy

Words from the introverse.

J. Giambrone

Blog of J.Giambrone

Obdurate

Big thoughts in a small country

Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic

Honest Reviews, Bookish Discussions & Enthusiastic Nerding.

John Lee Taggart

Writer, Filmmaker, & Procrastinator

Chesapeake Films

The Industry Resource for Great Stories